If you have any queries or suggestions, please contact the school on

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Email
  • Google+
  • LinkedIn

Year 7 Science

15 July 2022

Year 7 Science

During Term 2, the Year 7C science students were learning about classifications and how different things can be categorised into groups according to similar characteristics they share. Students learnt that the science of grouping and naming things is called taxonomy, while the scientists who specialise in the grouping and naming of living things are called taxonomists. Taxonomists sort all living things into five kingdoms. One kingdom is the animal kingdom. It is estimated that there are about 8 million different types of animals on earth. To assist in the communication and identification of these animals, taxonomists have classified them into smaller groups using the characteristics they have in common.

Pictured in the photograph is the Animal Kingdom Key. Using the similarities and differences, taxonomists have grouped all the known members of the animal kingdom into 9 smaller groups which are called phyla. Each of the smaller groups is known as a phylum. The ‘chordates’ phylum has been further classified into 8 classes of chordates. The Year 7s were divided into groups to summarise the characteristics of each phylum which they then put together with their teacher to display the animal kingdom key. Students really enjoyed the process of working and displaying the Animal Kingdom Key together. They were very proud of the outcome and pleased that they were able to constantly view their work as they entered the classroom which helped them in retaining the important information in their memories.