Diploma of Islamic Studies

Darul Ulum College of Victoria developed the 10873NAT Diploma of Islamic Studies Instruction and received accreditation for the qualification in 2020 from the Australian Skills Quality Authority (ASQA).

The Diploma consists of nine units as follows:

  • 5 units which focus on various areas of Islamic Studies such as Arabic, Qur’an, Hadith (prophetic traditions) and Fiqh (Islamic jurisprudence).
  • 4 units which relate to community services and focus on group activities, workplace communications and community programs.

The vocational outcome of this qualification is an Imam and /or a religious instructor, and it intends to provide participants with a range of knowledge and skills to perform the following functions associated with an Imam:

  • Leading prayers
  • Teaching the Qur’an
  • Teaching Arabic
  • Offering Islamic counselling and guidance as needed
  • Providing Islamic teachings to increase knowledge and provide for spiritual growth of community members.
  • Developing and implementing community programs.